Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
Verizon Complaint - customer service - all of above
Verizon Complaint

Verizon Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

customer service - all of above


This is a complaint against Verizon FIOS for the improper handling of our account which has adversely affected our credit rating. We recently received a notice from a collection agency for a debt that we had tried to pay but that Verizon had insisted was already paid. On 12/27/2009 we cancelled our Verizon FIOS services. The service was poor, customer service even worse, bills were always incorrect and the cost was much higher than advertised. We received the final bill for those services and paid this bill in full and telephoned Verizon to ask about the early termination fee of $199 that was not included on this bill. We were told this charge would be billed separately. The next, and only other bill we received from Verizon, was dated 3/7/2009. Page 1 of this bill stated FINAL BILL This final bill may have already been referred to an outside collection agency. Pay your bill online at Verizon.com/payfinalbill. Upon receiving this bill, with threat of a collection agency, we immediately went to the website as indicated to pay. The webpage continuously returned the error message that they were unable to process request at this time. We tried to access our Verizon online account to pay but no longer had access that account online either. We tried to pay the bill over the phone but the phone system was unable to process the request because the account number was not recognized. Over the next week we sent several e-mails and spent at least 8 hours either on the phone or on hold trying to determine the correct account number in order to pay this bill. On 3/17/2009 we reached Pam at a customer service center in Florida who was able to connect us to Crystal in Financial Services. Crystal informed us that she had located the bill but that the account number and payment address were different than the one printed on the bill we had received which is why we could not use the online or phone payment methods. We would have to mail in the payment. She assured us that she would send out another bill with the correct account number and payment address. In addition, she would adjust the due date to provide time to receive the new bill statement and make payment. When we had not received a new bill by 3/24/2009 we telephoned Verizon Customer Service again. On 3/24/2009 we spoke to Mr. Smith in FIOS Billing at 800-688-2880. He insisted that the reason we had not received a statement was because this bill had been paid in full. We explained to him that we had not paid this bill. He again insisted that it was already paid and we should just “consider this our lucky day”! Clearly the support staff in all areas of Verizon that we dealt with lacked the knowledge or training to properly assist customers. We have made payment to the Collection Company of America for this debt. However, we are dismayed at the way Verizon has handled their customers. We spent countless hours trying to resolve this bill with Verizon in good faith. Verizon failed to properly train their staff to understand the computerized accounting system and online services and thus were unable to properly assist us. We were provided with incorrect information and as a result Verizon sent this debt to a collection agency which has adversely affected our credit score. Verizon had made it near impossible to even provide payment when warranted. We received only one bill dated 3/7/2009 which we received at some point after 3/7/2009 and this debt record had apparently been forwarded to a collection agency by 3/24/2009 which was hardly enough time to make payment especially when 2 out of 3 payment options did not function properly.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Verizon
SUBMIT a ticket
for Verizon
WATCH videos
for Verizon
More Verizon Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Verizon

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


Bmar says: (7 years ago)
 0
Having the same issue.  Anyone have a solution?  Any good lawyers out there?  

I modified my current services with Verizon a year ago. I cancelled my home phone and just kept the internet and TV services.  Apparently, there was a balance on the old home phone account that I never received a final bill for because Verizon admittedly said  we may have sent it to the wrong address or it was possibly lost in the mail.  Every month, I paid my current bill, for my current services,  on time and in full, not knowing there was a balance from the old account .  You think Verizon would be smart enough just to add any overdue balance to my current bill.  

A few months later, I received a letter from a collection agency that my account was overdue (this is the first time I knew there was an overdue balance).  I immediately called Verizon to resolve the issue and pay the balance (877-325-5156).  The representative said it was a mix up because they possibly had the wrong address and told me this should have never happened since I am good customer and always paid my bills on time.  He gave me a website to make the payment (verizon.com/payfinalbill).   I then went to the website and paid the balance and received a confirmation email from Verizon that it was paid.  Sure enough, a few days later, I receive another letter that my account is still in collection.  Again, I called Verizon and they told me my payment was rejected and instructed me to try again.  I even called my bank to verify my routing number and account number and to find out why the payment was rejected.  My bank had no records in their ledgers of Verizon submitting my payment.    This happened 4 times and Verizon still continues to reject my payment.  I keep trying to pay them in good faith and now I received another letter from the collection agency, double the amount of the original balance.  



Bmar says: (7 years ago)
 0
Having the same issue. Anyone have a solution? Any good lawyers out there?

I modified my current services with Verizon a year ago. I cancelled my home phone and just kept the internet and TV services. Apparently, there was a balance on the old home phone account that I never received a final bill for because Verizon admittedly said we may have sent it to the wrong address or it was possibly lost in the mail. Every month, I paid my bill, for my current services, on time and in full, not knowing there was a balance from the old account . You think Verizon would be smart enough just to add any overdue balance to my current bill.

A few months later, I received a letter from a collection agency that my account was overdue (this is the first time I knew there was an overdue balance). I immediately called Verizon to resolve the issue and pay the balance (877-325-5156). The representative said it was a mix up because they possibly had the wrong address and told me this should have never happened since I am good customer and always paid my bills on time. He gave me a website to make the payment (verizon.com/payfinalbill). I then went to the website and paid the balance and received a confirmation email from Verizon that it was paid. Sure enough, a few days later, I receive another letter that my account is still in collection. Again, I called Verizon and they told me my payment was rejected and instructed me to try again. I even called my bank to verify my routing number and account number and to find out why the payment was rejected. My bank had no records in their ledgers of Verizon submitting my payment. Verizon keeps instructing me to try making the payment again. This happened 4 times and Verizon still continues to reject my payment. I keep trying to pay them in good faith and now I received another letter from the collection agency, double the amount of the original balance.



Bmar says: (7 years ago)
 0
Having the same issue. Anyone have a solution? Any good lawyers out there?

I modified my current services with Verizon a year ago. I cancelled my home phone and just kept the internet and TV services. Apparently, there was a balance on the old home phone account that I never received a final bill for because Verizon admittedly said we may have sent it to the wrong address or it was possibly lost in the mail. Every month, I paid my bill, for my current services, on time and in full, not knowing there was a balance from the old account . You think Verizon would be smart enough just to add any overdue balance to my current bill.

A few months later, I received a letter from a collection agency that my account was overdue (this is the first time I knew there was an overdue balance). I immediately called Verizon to resolve the issue and pay the balance (877-325-5156). The representative said it was a mix up because they possibly had the wrong address and told me this should have never happened since I am good customer and always paid my bills on time. He gave me a website to make the payment (verizon.com/payfinalbill). I then went to the website and paid the balance and received a confirmation email from Verizon that it was paid. Sure enough, a few days later, I receive another letter that my account is still in collection. Again, I called Verizon and they told me my payment was rejected and instructed me to try again. I even called my bank to verify my routing number and account number and to find out why the payment was rejected. My bank had no records in their ledgers of Verizon submitting my payment. Verizon keeps instructing me to try making the payment again. This happened 4 times and Verizon still continues to reject my payment. I keep trying to pay them in good faith and now I received another letter from the collection agency, double the amount of the original balance.



voteforhoffy says: (8 years ago)
 0
Now that more than a few people are having the same problems that i am having, i am trying to catch the problem before it becomes a problem! i, too, have been given incorrect information on the phone. i have been told that changing to digital service would lower our bill. when i called verizon, i was given the sob story of how my package is no longer available. then i was treated like the verizon agent was doing me a favor of lowering my bill to an amount that did not come to the amount i was told it would be in the first place! Now i am trying to pay my bill thru 'payfinalbill', which does not work. i am being told, also, that i am to wait for a bill in the final bill in the mail. now i am not expecting that to happen.
TELL YOUR FRIENDS AS I HAVE BEEN: DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH VERIZON OVER THE PHONE. BEFORE ACCEPTING ANY SERVICE, REQUEST IT IN WRITING!



heifer says: (9 years ago)
 0
We received a bill for $12.41 for services rendered, when we discontinued service with your company on September 14, 2009 and should not still be receiving a bill for any amount dated October 11, 209.



jellybean says: (9 years ago)
 0
I have had the same problem and at this time still unable to resolve the issue. This scares me in this world today when they are the ones that are responsible for our communications.



cksdust says: (9 years ago)
 0
I am going through the same thing now. I called to cancel service was given an amt paid it was never sent another bill. I realized I had a problem when was reported to credit company as a charge off. I never received final bill and was billed for amt I was supposed to be credited + 6.86 for some unknown service. Spent total of 21/2 hrs being transferred to 3 depts several times and no one could tell me what remainer of money was for. Followed up couple of days later and a very nice representative explained what differnce was for and was billed from outside company for services I never rec'd as verison DSL caused phones to fail no dial tone no nothing. After several calls to tech support and still not able to fix. Spoke to nice people however no one seems to know what's going on. Bottom line they have agreed to credit amt and send letter to credit reporting agency however they have up to 60 days to fix their error once I can get remainder $6.86 straightened out. Now challenge is how do I pay for it this web site I was told to go ot, verizon.com/payfinalbill will not let me in so I guess I will try calling them again on Monday.




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Verizon reviews


More

Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team